Raku Sushi 2/16/2014

My friends and I intended on going to Cooper Irish Pub before a movie at West End, but it was sadly packed as usual.  Instead of waiting an hour for a table, we opted to go next door to Raku Sushi & Lounge, where we got seated right away in time for happy hour, which warranted a quick post.

Venue:

The location is relatively small, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen it as packed as the surrounding restaurants, which are usually overrun.  The decor is a bar-like with a contemporary flair on traditional Japanese elements.  We walked up a few steps to sit at one of the sunken tables.  A note on these that one of my dining companions had come here on a date and found it very difficult to make her way into the seat in a skirt.

Food & Drink:

The following are the a few of the items ordered:

  • Gyoza – pan fried pork dumpling
  • Crispy Banana Shrimp Roll – Crispy fried rice paper wrapped shrimp, banana, coconut crunch & crushed peanuts
  • No. 9 Roll – Shrimp tempura and cucumber inside, topped with fresh salmon, avocado, eel sauce and spicy mayo sauce
  • This last one is no longer on the menu, but had dollops of sriracha sauce on top, which I remembered liking

The banana shrimp roll was one of my dining companion’s dishes.  She said it was a bit too deep fried for her.  The rest of the food wasn’t notable, but I must say I wasn’t disappointed by anything, especially for happy hour.

IMG_3078IMG_3080IMG_3082 IMG_3079Price:

My share came to $40, and that included 2 happy hour drinks, the gyoza, and 2 special rolls.  I’d say this was an excellent deal and definitely goes on my list for happy hour options at West End.

Leave a Reply

